top of page
Search
  • vbeeby

'A New Start for the Wrens' is a winner!

The awards ceremony for the Romantic Novelists’ Association Romantic Novel Awards took place on Monday night in London, and I was both thrilled and terrified to be a finalist. I was even more terrified when Peter Davidson, who was presenting the awards, announced that A New Start for the Wrens was the winner in the Romantic Saga category. However, I made it onto the stage without tripping or throwing up over Doctor Who – both nightmare scenarios that flitted through my brain – and thoroughly enjoyed the evening after that. Here is my official winner’s photograph, where I look like I still can’t quite believe what just happened.


Me holding my trophy. Behind is a poster with the RNA logo and caption 'Celebrate Romantic Fiction'

Even if I hadn’t won, it would still have been a great evening. I celebrated with my agent, Lina Langlee, and my editor, Emily Bedford, and got to meet loads of my online author friends in real life for the first time. You can find a full list of all the winners here.


Left to right: Emily Bedford, Vicki Beeby, Lina Langlee

Now it’s back to real life and work on my next book, but at least I have this gorgeous trophy to remember a fabulous event.


Disc-shaped clear award with a silver five-pointed star at the base. It's in front of the book A New Start for the Wrens to make the engraving visible. The engraving has the RNA logo with '2023' above and below reads: 'Romantic Saga Award Vicki Beeby.

A New Start for the Wrens


Are these newly trained Wrens ready to protect Britain’s coastline?


Following a humiliating experience involving the man she thought she’d marry, Iris Tredwick signs up to the Wrens in order to escape and find ‘the right sort’ of man to please her mother. After a bumpy start, Iris manages to befriend outspoken Mary and dreamer Sally as they are sent to their first posting – in Orkney.


There she meets mechanic Rob, whose flirtatious nature both charms and confounds straight-laced Iris. Much more appropriate for her is local doctor Stewart, if only she felt the same spark for him as she does for Rob…


As Iris, Mary and Sally work to interpret signals from incoming ships, they realise the enemy is somehow one step ahead of their manoeuvres, dropping sea mines under the cover of darkness. Could there be a spy on the island? And can the Wrens prevent disaster striking before it’s too late?


A thrilling and lively Second World War saga for fans of Kate Thompson and Daisy Styles.


24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page